πŸ“‚Issues
πŸ“‚2023
πŸ“ƒ2023/006

Open World Gamedev 2023/006

Hi and welcome to the sixth issue of this newsletter! Today's date is 2023-07-15.

I wasn't quite sure what to make of this but I think I'm going to go with the immersive sim theme (yes this newsletter is about open worlds but there is an overlap OK?! and it should be bigger!! (I might be biased) (because I'm making an open world imsim))

Anyway it's a big topic so there'll be more of it I'm sure. πŸ˜€

🌍

Share me: Boosting the newsletter helps more people find it so please do. πŸ₯° Here are the announcement posts for Twitter (opens in a new tab) and Mastodon (opens in a new tab).

🚩

Help out: Would you or someone you know be interested in helping out with the newsletter, the Open World Gamedev discord, and Tides of Revival? Perhaps someone who would like to learn some copy-writing, some video production, some basic coding, some community management, some spreading of the word? I and my team could use some assistance! :)

πŸ“Ί Videos

🌍

Sidenote 1: Adam Srayi is pretty new at the youtubing but I think he knocked it out of the park again! Bobby's presentation is also very good, I will likely be using something similar for Tides of Revival. The game I'm working on in my spare time. Shameless plug! If you are still not sure what it is me and my team are trying to make, I put together a handy little 2.5h vision video that should explain the basics. It's also up there.πŸ‘†

πŸ“œ Articles

🌍

Sidenote 2: Read the Combat as Sport/War one!

πŸ“˜ Physical Products!

🌍

Check out this issue's accompanying video here!

πŸ“¦ Assets, Code & Tools

😍 Cool Nuggets ✨

🌍

Sidenote 3: I like it when people post questions on social media and get interesting answers. Check out the discussion nuggets. The one on immersive sims is strong too.

🎁 Bonus Stuff

🌍

Sidenote 4: ISO 8601 is almost always the right choice when writing a date and time. It's one of the few ISOs that are made into memes. (Also sorry but Fahrenheit is not "more intuitive". The last explanation I read was that you could read it as percentages, like it's 75% hot, great! Well WTF does 105% hot mean?!? It's equally easy to make up "intuitive" or "human" explanations for the Celsius scale.)

🌍

Endnote: As always, thanks for reading! πŸ˜€ I'm on Twitter (opens in a new tab), Mastodon (opens in a new tab), Youtube (opens in a new tab).

You can also come and chat to open worlders over at our Open World Gamedev / Tides of Revival Discord server (opens in a new tab). Many of the resources get posted and discussed there first.

πŸ’™

Extra Credits: My friend Kenny (opens in a new tab) of Hello Worlds (opens in a new tab) has helped me out with the technical aspects of the newsletter to make it a bit snazzier.