πŸ“‚Issues
πŸ“‚2023
πŸ“ƒ2023/007

Open World Gamedev 2023/007

Hi and welcome to the seventh issue of this newsletter! Today's date is 2023-11-01.

You may have noticed it's been a while! Just over three months. Details of what and why in the video! It may be a while before I do the next one too - I've got life stuff going on - all good! - but I think it's unlikely to happen before Feburary 2024.

For this issue I chose a simple and vague theme duo: movement and organics.

🌍

Share me: Boosting the newsletter helps more people find it so please do. πŸ₯° Here are the announcement posts for Twitter (opens in a new tab) and Mastodon (opens in a new tab).

🚩

Help out: Would you or someone you know be interested in helping out with the newsletter, the Open World Gamedev discord, and Tides of Revival? Perhaps someone who would like to learn some copy-writing, some video production, some basic coding, some community management, some organizing and some spreading of the word? I and my team could use some assistance! :)

πŸ“˜ Newsletter Video!

Yes, I put this section first this time! This time I have something really special! An interview with Robert Alderman, the author of the book I'm reviewing. What an absolute pleasure it was! Definitely a joy to hear him talk about his process and thoughts on various open world topics relating to making a TTRPG campaign.

🌍

Check out this issue's accompanying video here!

πŸ“Ί Videos

🌍

Sidenote 1: blumineck's video channel is amazing for concrete game/fantasy-related archery takes. I think my favorites this time are the NN-based animations, and the legs video.

πŸ“œ Articles

🌍

Sidenote 2: The pixel art article was really nice I think, and the one about octahedral impostors too.

πŸ“¦ Assets, Code & Tools

🌍

Sidenote 3: Hey if you're writing a blog... please, please include your name easily findable on the page. Looking at you, "Josh". (I just realized I didn't have this on my itch.io profile. Fixed!)

😍 Cool Nuggets ✨

🎁 Bonus Stuff

🌍

Endnote: As always, thanks for reading! πŸ˜€ I'm on Twitter (opens in a new tab), Mastodon (opens in a new tab), Youtube (opens in a new tab).

You can also come and chat to open worlders over at our Open World Gamedev / Tides of Revival Discord server (opens in a new tab). Many of the resources get posted and discussed there first.